This article is a continuation of a series of articles on higher education institutions in Austria. Universities of Tyrol – what we will talk about in this article. The first part, dedicated to the universities of Salzburg, can be found here.

Tyrol is the third largest region in Austria. The capital of the region is the city of Innsbruck. This city is one of the most famous tourist and sports centers in Austria – it hosted the Winter Olympic Games twice (in 1964 and 1976), as well as twice the Winter Paralympic Games (in 1984 and 1988). In 2005, the city hosted several games of the World Hockey Championship, and in 2008 – few games of the European Football Championship.

An important role in the life of Tyrol has ski tourism. More than 120 km of slopes at altitudes from 900 to 3200 meters are perfectly equipped and prepared; in addition, more than 100 km of flat slopes are available, many hotels for any taste and color, trekking paths, modern ski lifts – all that is needed for a winter holiday .

Tyrol is also rich in other attractions – the Hofburg Imperial Palace, the museum of the legendary Austrian company Swarovski in Wattens, the largest bridge in Europe – Europabrücke, many castles, monasteries and cathedrals.

For development, the region needs qualified specialists in various fields, therefore, eight higher educational institutions operate in the region.

Universities of Tyrol. What are the options?

The universities of Tyrol are mostly located in Innsbruck, but there are a couple of exceptions.

Leopold-Franzens-Universität Innsbruck is often simply called the University of Innsbruck. It is the third largest university in Austria, holds high positions in many ratings both within Austria and in the world. More than 27 thousand students study at 16 faculties in it. It is noteworthy that the current president, Alexander Van der Bellen, is a graduate of this university.

Faculties at the University of Innsbruck:

  • Faculty of Architecture,
  • Faculty of Biology,
  • Faculty of Catholic Theology,
  • Faculty of Chemistry and Pharmacy,
  • Faculty of Economics and Statistics,
  • Faculty of Education,
  • Faculty of Technical Sciences (formerly Faculty of Engineering Science and before that Faculty of Civil Engineering),
  • Faculty of Geography and Atmospheric Sciences,
  • Faculty of Humanities 1 (Philosophy and History),
  • Faculty of Humanities 2 (Language and Literature),
  • Faculty of Law,
  • Faculty of Mathematics, Computer Science and Physics,
  • Faculty of Psychology and Sports science,
  • School of Political Sciences and Sociology,
  • School of Management,
  • School of Education (teacher training).

MCI Management Center Innsbruck – founded in 1995 and has about 3,000 students. The center offers bachelor’s and master’s programs in the fields of management, tourism, mechatronics, law and related disciplines. Some programs are available not only in German, but also in English, as well as remotely.

Medizinische Universität Innsbruck – was originally part of the University of Innsbruck (since 1669), but in 2004 it became a separate university. Students are about 4,000 people. Among graduates – three Nobel laureates. It provides an opportunity to receive training in a wide range of medical sciences – from molecular biology and biochemistry to medical statistics and computer science.

Pädagogische Hochschule Tirol – Higher Education School. It offers educational programs for future teachers of different levels and postgraduate education. University has more than 16 000 students.

Kirchliche Pädagogische Hochschule Edith Stein is a private pedagogical university with a focus on theological sciences. It offers programs for teachers of different levels, founded in 2007. It has regional offices in Salzburg, Feldkirch and Stams.

FHG – Zentrum für Gesundheitsberufe Tirol is another medical university. It was founded in 2007 and has about 1000 students. Unlike the Medical University of Innsbruck, it has fewer study areas, most of which are undergraduate.

Private Universität für Gesundheitswissenschaften, Medizinische Informatik und Technik is a private medical university located in the city of Hall in Tirol, campuses are also located in Landeck and Lienz. It was founded in 2001 and has more than 2000 students. It offers bachelor, master and doctoral programs not only in medicine, but also in technical specialties related to medical equipment – mechatronics, electronics.

Fachhochschule Kufstein Tirol – located in Kufstein. Founded in 1997 and provides its services to more than 2000 students. Offers undergraduate, graduate and postgraduate courses. Most programs are taught in German with some of the programs in English. There are fully English-language courses of study. All programs are related to modern business and management.